Album Track Listing


Release Date: 4 October 2004

Reviewed By: Kate Watkins


1. Goodies - feat, Petey Pablo

2. 1, 2 Step - feat, Missy Elliott

3. Thug Style

4. Hotline

5. Oh - feat, Ludacris

6. Pick Up The Phone

7. Lookin' At You

8. Ooh Baby

9. Next To You - feat, R kelly

10. And I

11. Other Chicks

12. The Title

13. Goodies - feat, T.I., Jazze Pha

Stone Love

Angie Stone - Stone Love
Read Review


Ciara is the latest crunk sensation from across the Atlantic, and the first female artist to take on the relatively new genre. Earlier this year, Usher brought us the crunk hit ‘Yeah’ featuring Ludacris and the King of Crunk himself, Lil’ Jon. With a helping hand from this crunk expert, Ciara’s debut album ‘Goodies’ is jam packed with bumping tunes that will make you want to get out on the dance floor.

‘Goodies’ is slated for release in the UK in January. The title track is also being released as her debut single, and is the album opener. The song, co-written with Sean Garett (Usher’s ‘Yeah’), features Petey Pablo and is a great dance tune with a solid beat. Ciara also exudes a lot of attitude on this track, with girl empowering lyrics, such as: ‘If you’re looking for the goodies/ Keep on looking ‘cause they stay in the jar.’ The song went straight to No.1 in the States and has potential to do well in the British charts if it is met with the same enthusiasm as ‘Yeah.’

Throughout her debut album, 18-year-old Ciara mesmerises eardrums with her young, silky-smooth vocals. The ballad ‘Next To You’ gently explains Ciara’s lusty longings for her boy, but in a sweet and almost tender way. With lyrics such as: ‘I just want it to be right for both of us/ When you don’t have to say a thing to make me comfortable,’ Ciara sweetly expresses her heart.

The album features collaborations from some of the biggest names in hip-hop, including Missy Elliot and Ludacris. The Missy Elliot track, ‘1,2, Step’ is a funky song in the style we have come to expect from Missy. The rhythms are slightly syncopated and the spirit of the song is all about having a good old time on the dance floor. Ciara’s vocals are good, but there is little variation in them, and it’s Missy’s rap that gives the song that extra ‘oomph’! This track would be an excellent follow up single to ‘Goodies’, as it continues to explore heart-pounding crunk rhythms.

In comparison, the Ludacris collaboration, ‘Oh,’ is not as strong, as Luda’s raspy vocals overpower Ciara’s sweet tone. Musically the song is pure crunk and heavy underlying beats with harmonic undertones to back it all up. Yet, the song fails to please because there is just not enough of Ciara.

While listening to ‘Goodies’, it is easy to see that her soulful vocals are still not fully developed. However, there is no doubt that they will continue to grow in depth and range over the next few years. The album lacks the imagination that comes from more experienced artists such as Beyoncé or Ashanti, but, Ciara has a great deal of potential and if she continues to put out solid albums and matures as an artist, we will undoubtedly be seeing more of her in the future. ‘Goodies’ is a good first effort for a debut artist.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Favourite Tracks:
1) Goodies
2) 1,2 Step
10) And I

Return to Latest Reviews or select review by artist or Soundtrack, A-Z.



US Music | Clubs | Front Page | UK Music | Events